Depp being Depp once again – News: Mortdecai

Johnny Depp excels in movies like this. The impression I’ve gotten from release trailers is that the role of the titular character in Mortdecai from Lionsgate was made for Johnny Depp. This film is an action-comedy blend, and is the type that fits Johnny Depp exceptionally well. He speaks in an odd manner, engages in accidental comedy, and even gets a funny little moustache. From what I’ve seen of this movie, Depp is here following in the footsteps of other characters he has played, such as Jack Sparrow, Willy Wonka, and Tonto.

But really, Johnny Depp might be the only redeeming factor in Mortdecai, which hits theatres today. I generally don’t like to judge movies before I’ve seen them, but this. . . does not look great. I’m sure it could be good for a couple laughs, and there may be some good action scenes, but to me, Mortdecai looks Mediocre.

Who knows though, this could be the smash hit of the year! I mean, Depp’s trusty manservant in the film has the not-at-all unfunny name of Jock Strapp.

I think I’ll wait for this one to reach Netflix.

I’m not close-minded though! If you guys see the film in theatres and have something good to say about it, let me know. You might change my mind. Even if you have something not so good to say about it, let me know about that as well. Might be good for a laugh.

You can read more about Mortdecai, which premieres today, here!

Leave a comment